DNP Business Meeting, June 18, 2007

Attendance: See appendix for attendance and key to initials

Note: The reports discussed below are posted to the DNP web site. As such the notes below only indicate selected highlights of the reports and ensuing discussion.

Meeting called to order by Garth Huber 12:33

Outgoing Chair's Report

Report by Garth Huber (GMH)

This year's DNP Thesis Prize was awarded to Dan Melconian. DNP thanks TRIUMF for providing the travel support component of this prize. The second competition starts this year (chief judge: GMH) with the same requirements for eligibility and materials to be submitted. It is best if the *nominator* (normally the supervisor) submits all materials. Adam Sarty (AS) asked whether or not this year's theses would be reconsidered for the 2007 competition. GMH noted that thesis which meet the terms of the 2007 competition, i.e. degree awarded in 2006 or 2007, can be reconsidered. As there was no objection, GMH offered to contact the two prior nominees that meet the criteria to see if they would still like to be considered for the 2007 award.

By acclamation, the new chair-elect will be Kumar Sharma (KS). GMH thanked outgoing past-chair Mike Hasinoff for his service. For the two-year term June 2007 to 2009, the DNP executive comprises Malcolm Butler (MB) as Chair, GMH as Past-Chair, KS as Chair Elect, and Greg Hackman (GSH) as Secretary.

GSC19 Report

Report given by John Martin (JM)

Karol Lang (University of Texas, Austin) will be the next Chair of GSC19.

Pat Walden (PW) asked if anything will be done with the Long Range Planning reports. MB pointed out that this will be discussed by Ken Ragan at the CINP meeting, and JM mentioned that both the short and long versions of the documents will be available at the poster session.

AS asked about the duration of grants, in particular why there were so few GSC19 5-year grants compared to other GSCs. JM replied that is simply is not always possible to award 5-year grants.

Peter Blunden (PB) asked about the prospects for SNOLAB operations (currently funded by GSC19) to be picked up by some other funding agency. JM said that there was hope, and that all the figures in his presentation assumed that this hope was realized. David Sinclair (DS) said that the issue has been raised many times with various government representatives; he expects a "Centre of Excellence" type of arrangement that SNOLAB could apply for in September. DS notes that the current SNOLAB operations funding runs out in December. DS also noted that Ontario law tied provincial funding to federal funding.

Shelley Page (SP) requested clarification on the Discovery Accelerator Supplement program. JM explained as follows. In the context of GSC19, a DAS grant would be coupled to a Project grant. The principle investigator for the DAS grant would not be a member of the coupled Project grant; for existing Projects, he or she would have to remove himself or herself, at no penalty to the Project grant. GSC19 would consider the coupled DAS and Project grants as if they were a single project, and award the Project grant based on the combined merits. The DAS component would then be put forward to the DAS evaluation committee as an independent grant request.

TRIUMF

Report given by Jean-Michel Poutissou (JMP)

No discussion.

Membership & Finances

Report given by GSH.

Membership is still growing, and despite a deficit this year, the long-term financial situation looks fine.

In response to an off-handed complaint by GSH during his presentation, SP pointed out that CAP has worked hard to upgrade its membership database.

Canadian Institute of Nuclear Physics

Report given by Malcolm Butler (MB).

MB congratulated GMH for his hard work in pulling CINP together. CINP had held its inaugural meeting of its Board of Trustees, and would hold its first General Assembly in the evening.

AOB

INPC 2010: Jens Dilling led a campaign to bring the triennial International Nuclear Physics Conference (INPC) to Vancouver. His presentation and promotion efforts were successful, and the 2010 INPC was awarded to Vancouver in 2010.

Closed by MB at 13:33.

Attendees

Alexkandrs Aleksejevs Roby Austin Svetlana Barkanova Michèle Beaudry Peter Blunden (PB) Samir Boughoba Malcolm Butlern (MB) Andrew Cummings **Barry Davids** Willie Falk Jennifer Fallis Paul Garrett Michael Gericke Greg Hackman (GSH) David Hornidge Garth Huber (GMH) Sangyong Jeon Rituparna Kanungo

William E. Kieser Karol Lang Randy Lewis Jeff Martin John Martin (JM) Doug Milton William T.H. van Oers Shelley Page Jean-Michel Poutissou (JMP) Rob Pywell René Roy Adam Sarty (AS) Kumar Sharma (KS) David Sinclair (DS) Juris Svenne Patrick Walden (PW) Kai Wunderk Stan Yen